The Ascendancy - Excellent Maps for HL2DM

Physicles

With so many HL2DM maps out there, how do you know which ones are top notch? In April, I decided to look at all the HL2DM maps I could find in order to isolate the ones I thought were exceptional. The result is The Ascendancy:

http://ascendancy.us.to/

I launched the site in early May, and every few weeks I search about 30 map sites for new maps. To date I have reviewed about 650 maps; the site currently contains 46. The maps fall into three categories: deathmatch, remakes, and team deathmatch.

My credentials? I've been playing HL for about five years, so I think I have a pretty good idea of what makes a good map. So far, I've received only positive feedback about the quality of maps I select. But I'm not a mapper, so I don't claim to be an authority on the subject. So, please keep in mind that the selection is based entirely on personal preference, and that it is not my intent to alienate those whose maps don't appear on my site.

I hope you guys find this useful. Comments are welcome.

Yes, good plan. I was looking for some good HL2DM maps to host a couple of weeks ago, and the choice was absolutely Goddamned abysmal. I ended up downloading throughly eighty, and only six or so were any good. The rest were plagued by terrible layout, design or workmanship. Some looked really nice in screenshots, then you'd download them and find that the mapper has no optimization knowledge whatsoever and it runs at 1fps.

You guys are hilarious! skdr and ferret, you do good work. :) You guys have any other suggestions for the site?

Heh, quite some maps I've seen on Snarkpit... :)

But 30 dedicated sites? Can you share that list with us? I think I know way too few of those...

I'll put up the list in the FAQ when I get a chance today.

Ra7 just got some oposition!

tbh the design looks like a "generic" hl2 site..