I just discovered this because the author was on the latest episode of the Quakecast. The project was in fact started on Quake (Darkplaces fork) but after hitting some snags it was posted to UE4. They are doing the same thing of Graven in building the maps in Trenchbroom and importing in UE.

Fascinating that the creator is a musician by trade.

The teaser and two gameplay tests are the footage that exists for the project at the moment

41 minutes ago, FMPONE said:

weird 2d/3d mix-up artstyle

What do you mean by that?

I can only imagine it to refer to doom/build-style use of sprites in place of models, and I can't say I spotted any such thing in the videos

Edited by ThunderKeil
52 minutes ago, ThunderKeil said:

What do you mean by that?

I can only imagine it to refer to doom/build-style use of sprites in place of models, and I can't say I spotted any such thing in the videos

probably not an articulate description on my part. Just not a fan of the art direction, it seems mish-mashy in a bad way

Hm, no, not sure I can see exactly what you mean

I quite like the visuals, if I had to name anything I don't though - I suppose the viewmodel looks a little incongruous with the rest of it - the textured sheen effect seems out of place with the rest of the game being much more modernly lit

-----------------------------

Gameplay-wise, it looks alright in the first 2 videos, but I'd say the third kind of kills the mood. I guess it's typical of this subgenre, but the ''rhythmic'' quality of the trailers seems like it won't align with the actual gameplay.

The slow-mo effect seems obnoxious and just further kills the pacing