jdanielx

Daniel McKenzie - Level Designer ( Hoping to get feedback)

Hi Everyone, hope your all good,

I'm Daniel  I'm an aspiring Level Designer. always looking at different ways to improve in my spare time.

Well I have been trying for two years now to get into my dream job as a level designer in the gaming industry with having no luck, and I have been creating levels in my spare time and this year has been short due to pandemic and PC keep crashing.

Here the link to my website: www.danielmck.com

I'm looking for feedback on my portfolio and my levels, what's good about it, can it be done better or what bad about the level.

Additionally, I'm always on the look out for a level designer position within the industry and would be excited to further discuss any opportunities.

Thanks in advance for any feedback and help you can provide!

Hey, welcome to Mapcore!

I had a look over your portfolio. I like that it's clean and easy to read. You did a good job with that!

I have to ask, to what companies have you applied over these 2 years? How far did you get in the recruitment process? Did you manage to do any tests? And what feedback did you get if any?

The level blockouts are cool, but they're easy to dismiss because of that. Most of them look like the very first version with limited consideration for metrics or art. The only exception to this appears to be the Chorus and Bank level. You did a much better job at maintaining consistent metrics and working with modular assets. However, the art pass and lighting are not exactly that ideal. As much as level designing is about blocking out stuff and quickly testing ideas, you should also ask yourself how the artists are going to translate some of your elements into functional assets and also keep consistency.