Pr0nogo

Hammer, Meet Anvil - CS:GO customs interview show

Hello! I've started an interview show themed around CS:GO customs. You can check out the first episode with poLemin (author of Guard, Feast, Manor) at the link below.

https://youtu.be/kcUJ7G44NBE

And the playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLyliQyde0qNmIyBnaO2JA27l3FQc2jKfH

As a bit of background, I initially planned on limiting my coverage of CS:GO customs to map analysis videos. However, I think the larger community of CS:GO would benefit from having more public-facing content regarding customs, and I also hope to tease out insights from developers of custom maps that will in turn help up-and-coming mappers to better conceptualize map design.

While I personally have not made maps in CS:GO, I have been making content for Starcraft: Brood War for over 15 years now, and thinking about level design in that context has helped to shape my understanding of level design in CS:GO. While I can't claim to be an expert in 3D level design by any stretch, I know and understand more than your average layman, and I believe that will help to shape my interview questions for the future.

I'm interested in any criticism you may have about the content, as I'm still quite new to interviewing, and hadn't fully mapped an outline of how conversations like this would go. If you have any ideas as to how I could make this content more insightful for mappers and enthusiasts, let me know.

Edited by Pr0nogo
Playlist

I really like the idea of giving custom maps more exposure that's not just "Here is the map.". The conversation about interpretation and intent of certain elements in maps is fascinating, especially as a mapper myself. I think especially newer mappers can benefit from conversations like that.