Sign in to follow this  
zastels

UE4 and Blender - BSP style is a must

I've always been very frustrated by the lack of brush work ability in UE4 and modeling packages like Blender. I'm a level designer who comes from the BSP era, and I understand BSP is no longer being used as an end result, what I think developers fail to realize is that we still need it so that we can shape our visions properly. The argument that BSP is for "roughly blocking out" your level is insane, no real level designer would say something like this. I think everybody knows, that perfect brushwork from the very beginning is how you truly shape something into being amazing. When everything is lined up, you make discoveries in your own work, and you run with that. When everything is smashed together roughly with no procedure or method, I don't understand how you can have creative insights. 

My main gripe with UE4, is that everything looks wrong in it. Every time you pop into an example file, it is proportioned terribly, and it is devoid of meaningful structure and guidance. I remember someone at Valve once saying, "If you can figure out how to the player look up, let us know how, we can't figure it out!" And that right there sums up UE4 design, most of the details are straight up in the air, and everything has this width of perspective to it that is entirely wrong feeling. When we design on BSP, we go into the map, we observe, we modify, ect. In UE4 I get the impression that these designers are making the mistake of designing from the editor perspective exclusively, and never properly viewing it from a player perspective. So the screenshots look great, but they're never realistic in the sense that they're taken from a place where the player reach, and with a field of view that is expanded. Many mappers on BSP take pride in taking real screenshots from actual player locations, where UE4 is all about dressing up the screenshot with the player perspective not being the primary focus.