MikeGon

Opal

My first CSGO map! xD

So my goal with this project is to make a fun, compact defuse map! I will keep posting my progress in this thread - your feedback is appreciated!!

This is my first time doing a CS map, so you CS gurus out there can make fun of me all you want :lol:

So here's what the iterations of the broad, high-level layout look like, with "V05" being the current one:

prod02.thumb.PNG.540163c9bae0b66ec0b46f0e274f96db.PNG

prod04.PNG.2c5bb298f7899cd32904e649833114bc.PNG

I really wanted to have a twist in the layout, with a "gotcha" path (the right-most on T-spawn might seem to be the way to point A, but it's not) I will also take this occasion to throw some verticality in there.

I think I will make it an underground tunnel, with the whole "CPB and bombsite B" section (top section on the layout) at a lower level than the rest of the map. This will allow me to reduce the time it takes for both teams to reach chokepoint B, and possibly put the section completely beneath Mid... we'll see.

The distances with V05 are starting to feel good enough to start with:

prod07.thumb.PNG.206ba0ad0a47b33de6ddf2ab2b2e350d.PNG

Of course those measures are not so accurate since they're calculated with a ruler directly on the layout... We'll see in-game for more accuracy.

(The rest of the distance will be added with smaller brushes, props or ramps, and the extra distance will be shaved by cutting corners with diagonals)

...Now this doesn't mean that V05 is the final version - I will go back to photoshop and make a V06 with improvements when I need to.

I have imported my layout into hammer, to walk on it and get a feel of the space, and scale:

prod06.png.08e150b0167d1d8033906a0274e71ff7.png

My goal is to get this to a first playable version as soon as possible, with basic brushes and bots. Stay tuned! ;)

PS: de_harbor is a working title. I usually name my maps much later in production, so the name will likely change at some point...