GRiNET

Heidel WIP and Design explanations

Hello everyone!

I am sorry I am late to the party. I've had some busy weeks making this blog very postponed.
I was thinking of updating this as I was working on the map, but now I will do it in bulk instead. 
In this post I am going to talk about my map and the design choices I've made for it at this time.

A little bit about myself. I'm a Level Design student at The Game Assembly in Malmö, Sweden.
When I saw that the people over at NWI had this competition in cooperation with Mapcore and Gamebanana I was very happy.
I really like the source engine, and I found this to be a great opportunity to make a complete map from scratch
and work on my personal pipeline as well as getting to know the engine, contribute to an awesome game and compete against you guy's awesome maps!
When I first began making my map I was really tempted to just jump right into the engine and produce the most awesome map ever made.
But I decided to play it cool and do some planning, paperwork and research first.

I've played Insurgency since it was only a mod, I wanted to replicate it's excellent gameplay in a game like DOI.
I love what they did with DOI but what I do not love as much is that I find the maps to big, making the player run a bit too much and less focused on fighting.
In Insurgency the maps were big, but they felt more combat-oriented which I loved.
So my idea was to make a map inspired by the gameplay in Insurgency but make it a tad bigger to get the feel of the large scale battles from WWII.
The final result is a medium sized map with both plenty of props and cover, but also some open areas with high visibility.

THE LEVEL OVERVIEW

JZYMF9n.png

RESEARCH
First off, I looked up some things about WWII and looked at all kinds of photos.
I also watched movies such as: Saving private Harambe and Band of Brothers.