Trashbang

[CS:GO] de_coredump

Hey all. I've been mapping on and off since ~2011 but this is the first time I've deemed one of my maps "good enough for release" (i.e. I can't stand the sight of it any more). I've never been to Mapcore before either, but this froody dude on Twitter suggested it as a good way to get feedback, which (as you can probably guess) I'm in dire need of. I'll try not to be 'that guy' who shows up, plugs his stuff, and leaves forever.

56fb3a1e1cc1c_ss(2016-03-30at10.25.49).p

So, Core Dump. Most of my earlier maps had disastrously poorly thought-out layouts, so for this one I tried to dial things back and went for a safer, Mirage-y layout, albeit with a few twists that I hope go down well. I wanted to go for a kind of original aesthetic (well, original in the sense that I've yet to see a map that does it) but I can't make textures or models to save my life, so I was working with whatever I could pilfer from royalty-free sources or slap together in Paint.NET. It's also terribly optimised, because... well, I don't really know what I'm doing. This map languished almost-finished in my folder for a few months—hence the lack of Newke assets—before I finally decided to just put it out there and accept its shortcomings. I've moved on a bit since making this, but I'll still treasure any and all feedback.

Anyway, pics.

20160329225258_1.thumb.jpg.d6f33c2bc4bf0

20160329225322_1.thumb.jpg.5bd91bcff0f5a

20160329225346_1.thumb.jpg.1840fe0b0259b

20160329225355_1.thumb.jpg.89896c410f9dd

20160329225415_1.thumb.jpg.406610773cb52

20160329225426_1.thumb.jpg.51723c6af7d32

20160329225448_1.thumb.jpg.6284e963bda60

If you fancy a runaround, you can find it on the Workshop here.

Cool, you signed up!

I'll try to remind myself to check it out ingame tonight.

From the screenshots I'd suggest more player-level lighting as there a few patchy-dark areas and other areas look bland due to this.