NihiL

My Advanced Hammer YouTube Tutorial Series (Episode 8 RELEASED: Packing Textures/Models into the BSP)

Hey all, I make YouTube videos and have been asked to talk about advanced concepts when it comes to mapping in Hammer, so I started a little series. I don't go over the basics (making brushes, applying textures, putting down entities like player spawns, props etc.) because there's already more than enough high-quality video tutorial content out there on these topics, but instead I talk about more advanced topics; how to make the most of Hammer, how to work efficiently with it and who knows what else haha.

This first episode briefly goes over unit scale and then focuses in on how to get textures to look good and trims. I expect a lot of you experienced Hammer users to know all this already but maybe this is still of some interest to some of you that are not quite total beginner but also aren't experts yet?

Do let me know if this helped you out and if you want to see more. Cheers!

(I also hope a shameless self-promotion post is okay here on Mapcore, it DOES have the goal of helping others and is relevant at least? :P)

Edited by NihiL

Haha thanks everybody. I was very nervous to post this here with all you experts. And naming the series 'advanced' was... risky... I thought. Because as an expert, it's all too easy to look down on this and scream "THAT'S SO EZ LOL I KNOW HOW TO THAT" hehe.

Aaanyways, it's very motivating to hear this this of value to some and I can only get better at these kinds of videos. I'll produce the next one tomorrow and focus on arches probably.

Edited by NihiL

@onebit: Cool, will do that next!

Today I released Episode 2 in which I briefly recap texture alignment and nodraw, then show a method to get 'perfect' arches and finally talk a bit about func_details.

As always, I hope this helps, let me know if it did, if you have topic suggestions for the future or if you've got any other feedback on my videos. Cheers!

Edited by NihiL