[CS:GO] - de_subliminal - Defusal map

AkatsukiUK

Hi everyone,

I have been making this level alongside writing a blog on my process from start to release for my portfolio. I wanted to challenge the editor in making a primarily indoor level only. 

http://www.henrytoftsdesign.co.uk

I am fairly new to Hammer, but I wanted to showcase level design itself. This level as a result uses stock assets/textures only. Flow, timings and angles have instead been the focus.

I have been a designer for a fair number of years now, and worked on Trials HD on the Xbox 360 in the past. CS has been a personal favourite of mine since 1.2, completely lost the reflexes now though..lol. Hope you enjoy subliminal and feedback is more than welcome! 

Features:

- This map has been fully optimised
- Map supports 15 vs 15 players, but 10-20 players are recommended based upon public play tests carried out.
- Working Radar
- Can play with bots
- This map has 180 lights in total, and over the course of 4 months building this level, they have been carefully tweaked. 

Stuff I learnt making an indoor level with Source:

- When you think it is bright enough, it still isn't. Due to the lack of an all encompassing skybox to govern the primary source of light, more lights are needed in an indoor map.
- I found light_spots to be useful in softly lighting darker areas. 
- Readability will always be an issue. I tried with this map to reach a happy medium with prop details and keeping it clean at the same time. Low ceilings and enclosed spaces come with the territory of making an indoor only map, so even a small amount
of detail will over emphasize the decoration. Take it away and suddenly the walls look very flat/bland.
- Adding some warmer lights and opening up the ceilings in places I found helped in reducing the feeling of being closed in and claustrophobic.