TheOnlyDoubleF

Career advice needed - TheOnlyDoubleF

Hey everyone, 

After talking to Sprony, we thought it would be a good idea to ask for some advices to experienced people. 

As you may know, i'm studying game design & management at Supinfogame France (a french school dedicated to video game careers). And I have to do an internship to validate my fourth year. 

The all thing is:

- I've already done an internship last year as game & level designer at Eden Games (known for V-Rally and Test Drive Unlimited) on their new racing title;

- It's been 2 months that i'm sending cover letters to Europeans studio and I've only received 6 answers, all negatives. I've contacted around 30 companies. So, I start to face a real demotivation, plus I'm not really in good spirits these days. 

Are my cover letters this bad? Is my portfolio that bad? Am I that bad?

- Eden contacted me last week and they said they would be happy to welcome me back, so i'm pretty tempted as it was an awesome experience within an awesome team.

- Many companies are looking for 6 months interns while I'm available for only 4 months this summer.

- I've only got one month left to find something and then find a place to leave and prepare my migration. 

But:

- I would be pretty excited to go back to Eden

- I would like to go somewhere else to discover new methods, new people, new projects and a new place.

So the big questions are:

- What would be the impact of going back there on my future? Wouldn't be a sign of weakness to stay in my "safe circle"? Wouldn't it be a problem to work on the same project twice so I only have one game on my portfolio for two experiences?

- Wouldn't it be cool to work on another production phase than the first time? with other problems, other tasks etc

Do you have any thoughts or any piece of advice ? 

a. lots of places don't do internships at all

b. getting 6 out of 30 responses is actually good, most of the time you will hear nothing at all