NeilJones313

The Art of the first game job.

So like everyone else on the internet these days I'm an art student. I have read so many books and GDC talks about how to get that first game job. And if it takes you a really long time to land that first job then you just need to get better and try again in a year or so. Don't get me wrong I'm all for getting better everyone can always get better at what they do. But today one of my friends told me today that he has been told to get better for the last five years and has just given up on the game industresty. He is just going to get a job at target and try to pay off his student loads for the next 15 years. After I heard this I started freaking out and spent 20 hours online applying and sending emails (with not one reply) and just trying to find out if I myself would end up like my friend years from now.

I guess what I'm asking is how does everyone feel about how crazy it can be sometimes to find any kind of work with-in games and why isn't there and industry standard for students. when I say standard I mean a model or concept art that every student can look at and say if I can model that or draw that within this amount of time then I will be o.k.

Sorry if this sounds like a rant, I just know a lot of good students and game designers that work at gamestops or walmarts and should be making the game's that make kids want to grown-up and do the same.

kidoncomp.jpg

Yeah I totally agree with Rick. Most of student of my school who left it at the same time of me didn't find any job because they think what they did at school was enough to get a job. WRONG !!

Being able to make quality levels and other content for an existing (and popular? ) game is far one of the best option to have a job because they know you can work on a real project.