Creating a skybox from a photo

Sprony

Hello there,

This subject has been driving me crazy for the past couple of days. I've found this photo and it's exactly what I want as a skybox.

http://www.hqoboi.com/img/nature/nature ... ma_022.jpg

Since I'm new to this and my knowledge is limited, I started looking for tutorials. Most refer to Terragen but the classic version has a 512*512 size limit and the clouds look like sprites. Also, it does not allow you to import an image you want to convert.

Google then gives you two options. Do it by hand in Photoshop or do it by hand in Photoshop and then render it in a 3D modelling program. I found a extensive tutorial regarding the latter at this site. It's posted in this thread. I've been having trouble with both Photoshop and Maya due to a lack of experience so I wondered, is there another way?

I don't need any fancy stuff or terrain, just a 360 degree sky from that image to be used in Quake 3 :)

Any suggestions, help, links to tutorials, etc would really be appreciated!

The first two bottlenecks:

The tutorial says I should apply a gradient because a sky isn't a single color. In the example it looks like only a small portion has a gradient applied to it. I however, can only add a gradient for the entire file. I don't know if that's a problem.

Tutorial:

sky_correct.jpg

Me:

sky_wrong.jpg

Then the tutorials says:

Merge all layers and fill a new background layer with your color from step 6. [in my case, a bright yellow].

ctrl + click the top layer [the one with transparency] to load it's selection.

Create an alpha channel and fill the selection with white.

According to the tutorial it should look like this:

sun_correct.jpg

Except mine looks like this. What am I doing wrong here?

sun_wrong.jpg

Thanks in advance!