Sign in to follow this  
Furyo

Looking for a good international web host

Hey everyone,

I've been using 1and1 for over 5 years now, but I keep hitting a wall each time I move out of a country. 1and1 requires to be paid using a card issued in the same country as the country the account originates from (they have a different company as part of a holding in each country they operate in)

So every single time, I have to cancel my existing account and register a new one in the country I move to. Huge pain in the ass.

This time around, my account in Germany needs to be renewed in the coming days, but of course I cancelled my card there. So it will be cancelled. But instead of signing up in France only to have to redo everything once more when I move to Boston later this year; I'd very much like to get a new web host that is good AND will allow for bills to be paid in multiple countries.

Anyone using such a web host?

Pretty much every web host I've ever used has allowed international billing — generally as long as you have a VISA (or just as often PayPal) you're good. Off the top of my head you can try EuroVPS or UK2 for European hosting, but really there's loads and those aren't necessarily the cheapest/best (although EuroVPS's web hosting is based on a very powerful cloud so is going to guarantee excellent performance).

I use godaddy and they accept many methods of payment, inc paypal. No problems with them in over 4 years, any queries answered in a few hours max via email or within minutes by (local) phone number.

If any of you are still using GoDaddy, please stop. They introduced a new policy called Selective DNS Blackout, which means that they will without warning block connections from certain DNS servers, because they're shitty servers apparently can't handle all requests.

Read more here:

http://rscott.org/dns/GoDaddy_Selective_DNS_Blackouts.htm