SimonOC / Sock Photo Thread

sock

I always try to take a ton of pictures of places I visit and this is a collection of stuff I have finally got around to organized into albums. I know these pictures are not amazing quality, (I am still learning) they are mostly about me creating mental reminders for ideas later on. As always, any suggestions on how to do things different, let me know.

The Buda Reformed Church

dscf0325.JPG

A beautiful church with an unusual floor plan crowned with vibrant coloured tiles and various architectural symmetry lines. I have been wanting to create a photo album for this church for some time, but only recently got all the background information I needed.

The Great Market Hall

dscf0462.JPG

Carrying on with my fascination of Neogothic Hungarian architecture is the Great Market Hall. Even thou it has been repaired recently it still looks awesome with richly coloured brick patterns and classic Zsolnay tiles.

St. Elizabeth Church

dscf0087.JPG

Here is another hidden treasure of Budapest which I found while wandering around the streets looking lost. What surprised me the most about this church is that it was built by Imre Steindl who is more famously known for building the Hungarian Parliament.

The Hungarian Parliament Building

dscf0663.JPG

This magnificent landmark is the crowning jewel in the architectural landscape of the city of Budapest with a symmetrical Neogothic facade, a sea of windows on all sides and a towering dome in the middle. (Plus it is free to get inside if you are from the EU)

Berlin Aquadom

dscf0029.JPG

If you need a reason for a quick weekend visit to Berlin then the Aquadom is something that is not to be missed. A tranquil home for 2600 fish and 56 species swimming around in over 900,000 litres of seawater. The feeding of the fish and the cleaning of the fish tank is performed daily by a pair of full-time divers.

Pergamon Museum

dscf0308.JPG